Best Dual Fuel Portable Generators 2026: 8 Picks
The Westinghouse 14500 Peak Watt Dual Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator leads this list because its title states the most details: dual fuel, electric start, transfer switch ready, and a watts figure over 9,000. The guide compares every pick on the details each listing title states, then on live prices, so the ranking reflects what sellers actually print.
7 picks from 2 generators that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 14 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
Which one should you buy?
- For a home on a propane tank: A dual fuel portable generator that names gasoline and propane in its title gives you a second fuel option when gasoline is hard to find. Check the watts figure against what you plan to power. See pick 1
- For weekend camping trips: A portable generator with an RV ready outlet in its title can connect to a camper's plug, but check the outlet against your rig's own plug and the maker's page. See pick 7
- For a job site or a workshop: A portable generator with electric start in its title saves you from pulling a cord. The watts figure tells you the seller's first number, which is often the starting figure. See pick 5
- For a travel trailer or motorhome: Look for a title that names an RV ready outlet and a CO sensor. The RV ready outlet is a stated detail; the CO sensor is a stated feature, not a promise of safety. See pick 6
The 7 picks
1 Most stated details in this list
Westinghouse 14500 Peak Watt Dual Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator
- Type
- Portable
- Fuel
- Dual Fuel
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
- Electric start
- Yes
This pick ranks first because its title states 3 details: dual fuel, electric start, and transfer switch ready, plus a watts figure over 9,000. No other pick in the pool states transfer switch ready. The title also names the watts figure as peak watt, which is the seller's first number.
Pros
- Title states dual fuel (gasoline and propane)
- Title states electric start
- Title states transfer switch ready
- Watts figure over 9,000 W
Cons
- RV ready outlet not stated by the seller
- CO sensor not stated by the seller
- Running watts not stated in the title
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a portable generator with electric start and a transfer switch ready label
- Buyers who need a watts figure over 9,000 W as stated in the title
Skip if
- Buyers who need an RV ready outlet stated in the title
- Buyers who want a CO sensor named in the title
Verdict: The Westinghouse 14500 Peak Watt Dual Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator leads on stated details, with electric start and transfer switch ready in its title.
2 Second most stated details, high watts
DuroStar DS13000MX 13
- Type
- Portable
- Fuel
- Dual Fuel
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
- Electric start
- Yes
$899.00 (as of 10/18/2026 23:01 PDT - Details)
This pick ranks second because its title states 2 details: dual fuel and electric start, with a watts figure over 9,000. It ties with the DuroMax and WEN picks on detail count, but appears earlier in the pool file, so it places higher.
Pros
- Title states dual fuel (gas and propane)
- Title states electric start
- Watts figure over 9,000 W
- Title names a 500cc engine
Cons
- RV ready outlet not stated by the seller
- CO sensor not stated by the seller
- Running watts not stated in the title
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a portable generator with electric start and a watts figure over 9,000 W
- Buyers who want a title that names the engine size
Skip if
- Buyers who need an RV ready outlet stated in the title
- Buyers who want a CO sensor named in the title
Verdict: The DuroStar DS13000MX ranks second with dual fuel and electric start stated, plus a watts figure over 9,000 W.
3 Tied for second most stated details
DuroMax XP13000HX 13
- Type
- Portable
- Fuel
- Dual Fuel
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
- Electric start
- Yes
$1,399.00 (as of 10/18/2026 23:01 PDT - Details)
This pick ties with the DuroStar and WEN picks on 2 stated details: dual fuel and electric start, with a watts figure over 9,000. It appears after the DuroStar in the pool file, so it ranks third.
Pros
- Title states dual fuel (gas and propane)
- Title states electric start
- Watts figure over 9,000 W
- Title says whole home power backup
Cons
- RV ready outlet not stated by the seller
- CO sensor not stated by the seller
- Running watts not stated in the title
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a portable generator with electric start and a watts figure over 9,000 W
- Buyers who want a title that says whole home power backup
Skip if
- Buyers who need an RV ready outlet stated in the title
- Buyers who want a CO sensor named in the title
Verdict: The DuroMax XP13000HX ranks third with dual fuel and electric start stated, and a watts figure over 9,000 W.
4 Tied for second most stated details
WEN 11,000-Watt 120V/240V Dual Fuel Portable Generator
- Type
- Portable
- Fuel
- Dual Fuel
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
- Electric start
- Yes
This pick ties with the DuroStar and DuroMax on 2 stated details: dual fuel and electric start, with a watts figure over 9,000. It appears after the DuroMax in the pool file, so it ranks fourth.
Pros
- Title states dual fuel
- Title states electric start
- Watts figure over 9,000 W
- Title names a wheel kit
Cons
- RV ready outlet not stated by the seller
- CO sensor not stated by the seller
- Running watts not stated in the title
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a portable generator with electric start and a watts figure over 9,000 W
- Buyers who want a title that names a wheel kit
Skip if
- Buyers who need an RV ready outlet stated in the title
- Buyers who want a CO sensor named in the title
Verdict: The WEN 11,000-Watt Dual Fuel Portable Generator ranks fourth with dual fuel and electric start stated, plus a wheel kit in the title.
5 Most stated details among mid-watts picks
WEN 8000-Watt 120V/240V Dual Fuel Portable Generator
- Type
- Portable
- Fuel
- Dual Fuel
- Watts
- 5001 to 9000 W
- Electric start
- Yes
- RV ready
- Yes
- CO sensor
- Yes
This pick ranks fifth because its title states 3 details: dual fuel, electric start, and RV ready, plus a CO sensor. It has a watts figure in the 5,001 to 9,000 W group, which is lower than the top picks but still stated.
Pros
- Title states dual fuel
- Title states electric start
- Title states RV ready
- Title names a CO sensor
Cons
- Watts figure is in the 5,001 to 9,000 W group, not over 9,000 W
- Running watts not stated in the title
- Transfer switch ready not stated by the seller
Good fit if
- Buyers who want a portable generator with electric start, RV ready, and a CO sensor in the title
- Buyers who want a watts figure in the 5,001 to 9,000 W group
Skip if
- Buyers who need a watts figure over 9,000 W
- Buyers who want a transfer switch ready label in the title
Verdict: The WEN 8000-Watt Dual Fuel Portable Generator ranks fifth with electric start, RV ready, and a CO sensor stated.
6 RV ready and CO sensor stated
Westinghouse 6500 Watt Dual Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator
- Type
- Portable
- Fuel
- Dual Fuel
- Watts
- 5001 to 9000 W
- RV ready
- Yes
- CO sensor
- Yes
This pick ranks sixth because its title states 2 details: RV ready and a CO sensor, with a watts figure in the 5,001 to 9,000 W group. It does not state electric start, so it places below the WEN 8000-Watt pick.
Pros
- Title states RV ready
- Title names a CO sensor
- Watts figure in the 5,001 to 9,000 W group
- Title says transfer switch ready 30A outlet
Cons
- Electric start not stated by the seller
- Running watts not stated in the title
- Watts figure is not over 9,000 W
Good fit if
- Buyers who want an RV ready outlet and a CO sensor in the title
- Buyers who want a watts figure in the 5,001 to 9,000 W group
Skip if
- Buyers who need electric start stated in the title
- Buyers who need a watts figure over 9,000 W
Verdict: The Westinghouse 6500 Watt Dual Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator ranks sixth with RV ready and a CO sensor stated.
7 RV ready and CO sensor in a lower watts group
Westinghouse 4650 Peak Watt Dual Fuel Portable Generator
- Type
- Portable
- Fuel
- Dual Fuel
- Watts
- 3000 to 5000 W
- RV ready
- Yes
- CO sensor
- Yes
This pick ranks seventh because its title states 2 details: RV ready and a CO sensor, with a watts figure in the 3,000 to 5,000 W group. It does not state electric start, and its watts figure is lower than the Westinghouse 6500 Watt pick.
Pros
- Title states RV ready
- Title names a CO sensor
- Watts figure in the 3,000 to 5,000 W group
- Title says gas and propane powered
Cons
- Electric start not stated by the seller
- Running watts not stated in the title
- Watts figure is not over 9,000 W
Good fit if
- Buyers who want an RV ready outlet and a CO sensor in the title
- Buyers who want a watts figure in the 3,000 to 5,000 W group
Skip if
- Buyers who need electric start stated in the title
- Buyers who need a watts figure over 9,000 W
Verdict: The Westinghouse 4650 Peak Watt Dual Fuel Portable Generator ranks seventh with RV ready and a CO sensor stated.
Side by side
| # | Generator | Type | Fuel | Watts | Electric start | RV ready | CO sensor |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Westinghouse 14500 Peak Watt Dual Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator | Portable | Dual Fuel | Over 9000 W | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| 2 | DuroStar DS13000MX 13 | Portable | Dual Fuel | Over 9000 W | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| 3 | DuroMax XP13000HX 13 | Portable | Dual Fuel | Over 9000 W | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| 4 | WEN 11,000-Watt 120V/240V Dual Fuel Portable Generator | Portable | Dual Fuel | Over 9000 W | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| 5 | WEN 8000-Watt 120V/240V Dual Fuel Portable Generator | Portable | Dual Fuel | 5001 to 9000 W | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| 6 | Westinghouse 6500 Watt Dual Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator | Portable | Dual Fuel | 5001 to 9000 W | not stated | Yes | Yes |
| 7 | Westinghouse 4650 Peak Watt Dual Fuel Portable Generator | Portable | Dual Fuel | 3000 to 5000 W | not stated | Yes | Yes |
How we picked
This guide covers 8 portable generators whose titles say dual fuel. The pool was filtered to open frame portables (not inverters) that name gasoline and propane. Each pick is compared on the details its listing title states: type, fuel, the first watts figure, electric start, RV ready, and CO sensor. The ordering rule ranks picks by the number of stated details (most first), then tri fuel before dual fuel before gasoline before not stated, then by the order in the pool file. The top pick states 3 details; the next picks state 2 or 1. Live prices are printed on the page and are not part of the ranking.
How to choose
Inverter, open frame or standby
The title tells you which kind of machine you are looking at. A title that says portable and does not say inverter is an open frame portable generator. A title that says inverter is a different kind of machine. A title that says standby, whole home, or home generator and does not say portable is a standby unit, which is installed by a professional. This guide covers only portable generators whose titles say dual fuel.
Which fuels the title names
A dual fuel title names two fuels, usually gasoline and propane. The EIA pages in the sources explain what gasoline and propane are as fuels. The title does not say how the generator switches between fuels or how to store either fuel. If a title names only one fuel, it is not dual fuel. If a title names three fuels, it is tri fuel, which is outside this guide.
Starting watts and running watts in a title
The first watts figure in a title is often the starting (peak) figure, not the running figure. The title usually does not say which figure it is. The running figure is lower and is printed on the maker's page. This guide quotes each title's own figure and groups it into a range, but does not give a running figure the title does not print.
Electric start, RV outlets and CO sensors as listing words
A title that says electric start means the seller states that feature. A title that says RV ready or names a 30 amp or 50 amp RV outlet means the seller states that outlet. A title that names a CO sensor means the seller states that feature. If a title does not say one of these, the detail is not stated by the seller. The RV guide says to check the outlet against your rig's own plug and the maker's page.
Who connects a generator to a house
Connecting a portable generator to a home's electrical system is for a licensed electrician, the maker, and the local permit office. This guide does not describe how to connect a generator to a house. A title that says transfer switch ready is a stated detail, not a wiring instruction.
What this guide leaves out (and why)
The catalogue has no data on noise, runtime, fuel use, tank size, weight, outlet types or counts, engine size, alternator type, harmonic distortion, parallel kits, app quality, durability, build quality, reliability, warranty terms, emissions approval, sales, or popularity. This guide compares generators only through listed details: type, fuel, watts group, electric start, RV ready, and CO sensor. The maker's manual and the CPSC, CDC, and NFPA pages in the sources are where to read about those topics.
Questions
What does dual fuel mean in a generator title?
A dual fuel title names two fuels, usually gasoline and propane. The title states which fuels the generator can use. This guide covers only portable generators whose titles say dual fuel. The EIA pages in the sources explain what gasoline and propane are as fuels. The title does not say how to switch between fuels or how to store them.
What is the first watts figure in a title?
The first watts figure in a title is often the starting (peak) figure, not the running figure. The title usually does not say which figure it is. The running figure is lower and is printed on the maker's page. This guide groups the first figure into a range, such as over 9,000 W, but does not give a running figure the title does not print.
Does this guide cover noise, runtime, fuel use or where to run a generator?
No. The catalogue has no data on noise, runtime, fuel use, tank size, weight, or outlet types. This guide compares generators only on stated details: type, fuel, watts group, electric start, RV ready, and CO sensor. For topics like where to run a generator, read the maker's manual and the CPSC, CDC, and NFPA pages in the sources. The CPSC page says never use portable generators indoors or in garages, basements, or sheds.
What does RV ready mean in a title?
RV ready means the seller states an RV ready outlet, often a 30 amp or 50 amp outlet. The title names the outlet, but it does not say what it will power. Check the outlet against your rig's own plug and the maker's page to see if it matches. This guide does not promise that any pick runs an air conditioner or any other appliance.
How are the picks ranked in this guide?
Picks are ranked by the number of details the title states: type, fuel, watts group, electric start, RV ready, and CO sensor. Most stated details rank first. Then tri fuel before dual fuel before gasoline before not stated, then by the order in the pool file. Live prices are printed on the page but are not part of the ranking.
Recent updates
- : First published.






