Continuous vs Maximum Watts on Generators
Short answer: Continuous watts is the level a generator is rated to supply steadily while it runs; maximum watts is the short burst a motor pulls for a moment when it starts. On listings the higher figure usually leads the title, and the continuous figure appears in the maker's spec list. Compare both figures: continuous watts describes steady running, maximum watts describes the starting burst. This site groups generators by the first title figure and compares stated details; sizing your loads is a question for the maker and an electrician.
Two figures on a generator listing
Generator listings name watts in two ways. Continuous watts, sometimes labeled running watts, is the power level the generator is rated to supply while it runs. Maximum watts, sometimes labeled starting watts, surge watts, or peak watts, is the brief burst a motor draws for a moment when it starts.
Both are stated details on the listing, not measured results. This site compares what the seller and the maker state, and it does not promise actual output, runtime, or fuel use. For the fuller treatment of the same pair, see the article on running watts versus starting watts.
Why the higher figure leads most titles
In most titles the first watts figure is the higher one, the maximum or starting figure. Sellers lead with the number that reads largest, then place the continuous figure in the bullet list or on the maker's specification page.
When a listing names one watts figure only, that figure is usually the maximum. The continuous figure may be "not stated by the seller"; the maker's page is the place to read it.
- A title that names a single watts figure usually names the maximum figure.
- A maker's spec sheet often lists a continuous watts figure below the maximum figure.
- The same generator can be described by either figure in different listings.
Reading the continuous figure on a maker's page
The continuous figure usually appears in the maker's specification list, below the maximum figure. Labels differ: "running watts", "continuous watts", or "rated watts". The maker's page is the authority on what the figures mean for that model.
The maker's site also publishes the owner's manual. The manual, not a shopping page, describes how the unit is to be run and maintained. Reading the manual's words next to the listing answers most questions about a model. See generator specs explained for how the rest of a listing reads.
Comparing two generators on both figures
When two listings sit side by side, compare both figures. A set with a high maximum figure and a modest continuous figure reads differently from one where the two figures sit close together.
The continuous figure describes what the set can supply as it runs; the maximum figure describes the moment a motor starts. Neither figure, read alone, tells the whole story of a listing. The words for the burst are covered in the article on surge power.
| Listing term | What it describes |
|---|---|
| Continuous watts | The level the generator is rated to supply while it runs |
| Running watts | Another label for the continuous figure |
| Maximum watts | The brief burst for a motor as it starts |
| Starting watts | Another label for the maximum figure |
| Surge watts | Another label for the brief starting burst |
| Peak watts | Another label for the brief starting burst |
Why this site compares stated details only
The guides on this site compare stated details from the catalogue: the type (inverter, open frame, standby), the fuel (gasoline, dual fuel, tri fuel), the first watts figure in the title, electric start, RV-ready outlets, and a CO feature if the listing names one.
The site does not state measured output, runtime, fuel use, or noise. Those are questions for the maker's page and the owner's manual. This article does not size a home or promise what a generator can power. For the general approach, start with the main generator guide and the wattage calculator article.
A listing's continuous and maximum figures are labels that describe the same machine in two ways. Reading both on the maker's page gives a clearer picture than the title alone. The site's ordering rule groups sets by the first title figure, so the higher figure determines which guide a generator appears in.
Sizing and connections are questions for the maker and an electrician
Choosing watts for a home is a question for the maker and a licensed electrician. They read the loads, the wiring, and the local permit office's requirements. This site does not give connection, wiring, or grounding steps; that is the territory of the professional on the job. See generator for home backup sizing for where that question leads.
Carbon monoxide from any running engine is odorless and colorless; follow the maker's manual for where a generator runs and read the carbon monoxide guidance published by the CPSC and the CDC, linked in this article's sources.
Reading watts groups on this site
The guides group generators by the first watts figure a listing title states. A set whose title names a higher figure lands in a larger group; the continuous figure still appears on the maker's page.
Compare a mid-size set in the 3,000 to 5,000 watt guide or a larger set in the 5,001 to 9,000 watt guide, then confirm the continuous figure on the maker's spec page.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You want the figure that describes steady running | A listing that states continuous watts in the maker's spec list | Best Generator (2026): Inverter, Portable, Standby Generator Reviews |
| You want headroom for motor-starting moments | A set whose maximum figure sits clearly above its continuous figure | Best Portable Generators 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details |
| You shop by the first figure in the title | The higher figure (usually the maximum) as the grouping name | Best Generator (2026): Inverter, Portable, Standby Generator Reviews |
| You prefer an inverter style for camping and small loads | An inverter listing with both figures on its maker's page | Best Inverter Generator in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details |
| You want a mid-size set for a home or an RV | The 3,000 to 5,000 watt guide | Best 3000 to 5000 Watt Generators: 13 Picks by Stated Details |
| You want a larger set | The 5,001 to 9,000 watt guide | Best 5001 to 9000 Watt Generators 2026: 9 Picks by Stated Details |
Questions
What is continuous watts on a generator?
Continuous watts, also called running watts, is the level the generator is rated to supply while it runs. It usually appears in the maker's spec list below the maximum figure.
What is maximum watts on a generator?
Maximum watts, also called starting, surge, or peak watts, is the brief burst a motor draws for a moment when it starts. It usually leads the listing title.
Why does a title show only one watts figure?
Sellers usually lead with the higher maximum figure. The continuous figure is often in the bullet list or on the maker's page, sometimes marked as "not stated by the seller".
Which figure should I compare first?
Compare both. The continuous figure describes steady running; the maximum figure describes the starting burst. This site groups sets by the first title figure.
Does this site size my home?
No. Sizing is a question for the maker and a licensed electrician. The site compares stated details and promises no actual output.
What does surge mean on a generator listing?
Surge watts is another label for the brief maximum burst a motor draws when it starts, the same idea as starting watts or peak watts.
Where do I find running watts on a listing?
On the maker's specification page, usually below the maximum figure, labeled running, continuous, or rated watts.
Recent updates
- : First published.